Moved In and Ready for a New Adventure

Well, I’ve been moved in for about a week now and I have to tell you, I am exhausted. Between the 12 hour drive here, the 6 hour long audio book I had to listen to (which I later found out wasn’t actually required), moving everything in and getting organized and then starting 6 new classes.. I am incredibly tired. But in the midst of the craziness, I have found many blessings this week.

  1. Amazing program and opportunities. After starting all of my classes and meeting the professors, I know that this is exactly where I am supposed to be. Its an extremely rigorous course but I am totally excited to truly and finally challenge myself in my creativity and passion for photography.
  2. One of the most beautiful places ever. We have been having bright sunshiny days followed by storms and rain and I have to tell you that it smells phenomenal. If I could bottle up the smell of the plants here after it rains and sell it, I would be a billionaire. lol..
  3. Horrible service and Google Hangouts. Since campus is kinda out in the middle of nowhere, we don’t have service (except for the one spot on top of the fridge LOL) so I have been making actual phone calls and getting to actually talk to people which I really think is a blessing. Real conversations for once and hearing the voices of the people I already miss so much is super awesome. & Google hangouts.. If you don’t know what that is, its a video chat program kinda like Skype. Nick showed it to me and we managed to get all of my best friends from church all on at the same time. Getting to hear them all bicker and laugh together was so so good. I miss them incredibly.
  4. Hippies and Cameras. My roommate and I the other day went into town to complete a project for one of our photography classes and a young man with dreads and a yellow bike came up to us and asked if we would take pictures of his art. Matthew makes gemstone pins and satin “tail” pins to sell so that he can have money to provide for his four month old daughter. It was not a person I would have gone up to and talked to, let alone take pictures of. But meeting Matthew and few odd birds here in Colorado spurred an awesome idea for a photo project that my mom came up with that I am really excited about. I’ll have more info on that as it evolves.

This week has taught me that in the midst of chaos and sadness brought on by moving and starting a new chapter in your life, comes a lot of amazing and exciting blessings. You just gotta keep your eye out and be ready to take on the world. “Go get shit done!”  is what my mom would tell me. So go GSD and find your weekly blessings in all that you do.

Many blessing to you all!

Bec in Colorful Colorado

{Photo by Margarette Sia Photography}

3 thoughts on “Moved In and Ready for a New Adventure

Leave a Reply

